mind adventures

an experimental theatre company set up in sri lanka in 1999.

Looking Through My Earphones: ‘Errol’s Story III’

III

I pointed my brand new, midnight blu Versace with chrome studs, inflatable pockets & turbo boost zip towards home, the time on my Creative Zen Portable Media Centre reading half past the Morning Show – I was caught in the thick of Prime Time. The morning commercials drove recklessly sporting fresh-faced kids with attitudes & milk mustaches, forcing me to channel-hop blearily.

I managed to make my brand new, midnight blu Versace with chrome studs, inflatable pockets & turbo boost zip inconspicuous between a cK Cabriolet & a Prada stretch limo, then let myself quietly into my pad, trying not to wake my landlady and her Nespresso D290. I headed straight to the bar, I desperately needed a Paul Mitchell Super Charged Conditioner but found only a half bottle of Paul Smith gone bad & sat down wearily in front of my TAG Heur Monaco V4 with plasma screen.

I had made it yet again, survived life in the fast lane, played my cards close to my chest, managed to play out all the rest. Braun, my pet hairdryer curled up expectantly besides me as I picked a prime cut of the morning news. The main stories were the LBO of the EEC, the Vatican IPO & the man-hunt for a terrorist with weapons of mass seduction, along with a picture of me in a lewd pose, though with a different nose. My heart gave a leap, Braun collapsed in a heap.

I needed a bath, so I set the Whirlpool for a tumble wash, undressed and checked my weight on the All Share Index. More bad news. Quarterly earnings were down, the bottom had fallen out of my market. It was time to strip the assets, downsize, retrench, layoff. It was time to sell out & move on. In my brand new, midnight blu Versace with chrome studs, inflatable pockets & turbo boost zip.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

